Is iTunes diluting our Memories?

We recently gave away a CD to one of our Facebook Fans last week. I thought we would revisit this blog from last year on how our initial memories of songs are changing.

The summer of 1983 we traveled to The Netherlands to spend time with our family. Pictured here is my family with my sweet Dutch grandmother.  We had a fun time getting to know our extended family better but there’s only so much ‘visiting’ kids can do before they get bored, so our parents agreed to let us go to the movies one evening. The only American movie playing at the time, with English subtitles, was James Bond ~ Octopussy. Now I can’t say the movie’s theme song, All Time High, was my favorite tune but the minute I hear it, I am immediately back in that Holland movie theater, hanging out with all my cousins. It brings all the memories of that summer rushing back. Isn’t it amazing how a song can trigger and help you recall such memories?

Another popular song from that summer is True by Spandau Ballet. Instead of this being a great classic from the past, my memories are now more about when Modern Family used their storyline around this song last year.

What song produces strong memories for you? Do you find with the accessibility of songs that are played over and over with ease, is changing or fading our original memories of the song? We’d love to hear your thoughts, leave us a comment!



2 responses to “Is iTunes diluting our Memories?

  1. What a great story! Every time I see that movie on tv I am back in that theatre as well. Great memories, MovieMe!

Leave a Reply

