How did we get here?

Yesterday marks MovieMe’s One Year Anniversary. What makes this so much fun is this business was just a hobby. I have two amazing stepkids, who at the time were involved with sports and drama. For most people a football game meant bringing your favorite noise maker, mine was a video camera. Every play my stepson was in, I was zeroed in on his tackles. Every drama play my stepdaughter was in, you could find me videotaping her acts. For people who videotape you know it is difficult to watch from behind the camera but I believed the sacrifice was worth it so that my stepchildren will have video to share with their children. Not only will they have videotape but their mother is an excellent photographer so they have ‘got it’ from both angles. Poor kids, haha.

Over time I started to refine what I captured, started to shorten the footage to just highlights, eventually added music and fell in love with Apple. This was no easy feat in changing to Apple since in my corporate world I had worked on a PC for 20 years. It wasn’t until I went to a PC seminar to learn how to do movies where the teacher mentioned after class that all his photos and videos are done on an Apple and he was the one teaching us how to use a PC?! The next day I went to the Apple store and from there the rest is history. Although it took several One-on-One, Apple training classes, to learn how to navigate, it wasn’t long before I was making movies on my own. I would be remiss in not mentioning Steve Jobs here…as he said in his 2005 Stanford Commencement speech, ” You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life and the only way to be satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the hear, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.” Thankfully, for me, this has been true with both my Marriage and MovieMe!

Fast forward to this moment and all I can say is I am incredibly grateful for having found work that is so rewarding. I didn’t get to this place by myself so I would like to thank several people who helped launch MovieMe!

  • One of my first introductions to social media was through an Apple employee at the time, Melanie Romanaux. Sure, I was familiar with LinkedIn, the professional networking site, but Twitter and Facebook Fan Pages? Tweet what? Melanie has since left Apple and launched her own successful social media consultative company called Somedia Solutions.  I am grateful for her guidance and counsel. You can see the breakdown of her work on MovieMe at http://www.somediasolutions.com/our-work/movieme/

  • Next step was the logo. A friend and my stepdaughter helped with the MovieMe! logo as the final image. It is one thing to edit a movie, it’s completely another to create from scratch an idea into an incredible visual. Thank you Jeremiah and Chandler!
                                                             
  • As I learned more about the marketing power of the Facebook Fan Pages, I wanted to have a mini commercial when folks ‘landed’ on my page, thus the MovieMe! landing page was created. Somedia introduced me to John Hamon at Stakkeddesigns, now called Premier Logic. http://www.premierlogic.com John paid close attention to detail and more importantly captured the vision of what I wanted to share. Thank you, John!
  • Initially, I was not aware about the copyright infringement use of music. I thought if I had paid for the song, given credits at the end of the movie and provided all necessary credits to the song artists, I was legal. I soon learned there are expensive licenses to obtain for that privilege. Immediately, I took down all my movies and thought this fun business had come to a screeching halt, that is until I learned about royalty-free music. Two people who brought this to my attention and provided some great wisdom on working around this obstacle were Sol Sims, http://www.solarviewphotography.com and Tom Martin, http://www.fb.com/LeveragingLife. Many thanks to you gentlemen for helping me see around the boulder that fell in front of me!

  • One day as I dropped off some media to be converted at Nostalgic Media, I started talking to the owner about my business and soon we were trading leads with each other. Fantastic business and even better owner. Thanks for all the business, http://www.nostalgicmedia.com!
  • Several months ago, I was approached by an incredible wedding photographer, who wanted to spend more time on photos than making movies. We quickly found that our approach to telling a story through photos and video was very similar. We launched an alliance this past August and I am excited about working with Randall Granier Photography. http://www.randallgranierphotography.com

  • And last but certainly not least, my husband. I have to admit I didn’t see a business opportunity because of the widespread availability of video/movie software. But the more and more I made movies for friends and friends of friends, my husband said there is a niche of people who don’t have time to put these together. Hesitantly, I started and to my surprise, it has been steady business ever since. Thank you, Russ, for believing in this business and most of all for believing in me.

And on that note, I will end this reminiscent review of the past year. If you are a new fan to this page or a previous client, thank you for your interest and thank you for your business. I look forward to making your memories come back to life with MovieMe! Click on the photo below for your $25 coupon, expires December 10, 2011.

 

Leave a Reply

