Dreams of Scrapbooking

Wendy is a thirty-something, native Floridian who is raising identical twin girls with her husband and their yellow lab, Charley. She loves to write and loves to make memories with her family. Her blogging days started as an avenue to share her experience with the BRCA1 breast cancer gene. She recently underwent a preventive double mastectomy to greatly reduce her risk of cancer, and her goal is to reach others in the same situation.

Visit www.preventivedoublemastectomy.wordpress.com to read her surgery story and laugh about her twin adventures.

*******************************************************************

I used to be an avid scrapbooker. I have an entire scrapbook devoted to a 7-day cruise, one outlining the first year of my dog’s life, and even a book about my husband and I building our own home. However, all these books are about, oh, 5 to 8 years old. Why aren’t there any recent ones? Well, because the adventure of turning twin preemies into twin 5-year-olds can surely cause a scrapbooking hiatus.

I assure you the lack of pictures is NOT the problem. In fact, the sheer number of pictures is so overwhelming that when I even try to organize the two card-catalogue type boxes from the first year, I completely freak myself out. As parents, we all know the real problem…it’s the lack of time and energy. I recently read a quote that summed it up great…”Toddlers have so much energy because they siphon it out of their parents like midget gasoline thieves.” I couldn’t have said it better myself.

The only scrapbook I have managed to complete “post-twins” was a 3-year anniversary present to my husband. It was a scrapbook dedicated to our wedding and honeymoon in Vegas. Yes, three years later. And it took every ounce of energy I could muster between the feeding and nap schedules of 10 month-old twins. I should have been sleeping instead, but he seemed grateful and let’s face it…the present was really for me. J

Since then, we have moved…which caused things to be “put” in places where I can no longer find them. And I have also acquired 4 more years of pictures that document every time my kids did anything cute, which when you are raising identical twin girls, every day is a new photo-op! I made an attempt to get started on a book for the girls about two years ago. My plan was to do a page spread for every month of their first year. I completed the first page of the album which highlights the first sonogram picture that clearly shows both of them. They were at 10 weeks gestation, and when I realized I still had to document my baby shower too, I got overwhelmed and quit. The book is now in a cabinet in my closet, and the plan to continue one day surely haunts me.

When the girls turned 3 and I went back to work…you know what happened to any smidgen of “available” time I had. It is now used to cook, clean (sometimes), put toys away, help with Kindergarten homework (who knew?), and catch up on my TV shows that I never get to see live anymore. It’s this crazy, busy life that we all lead at some point. So what do we do instead of documenting our own journey? We find someone to do it for us. Whether it’s one of the wonderful products from MovieMe, or simply a quick-fill photo book from a photography website…we need this help…we want this help…and our memories depend on it!

 

One response to “Dreams of Scrapbooking

  1. Reblogged this on drndark.

Leave a Reply

