The One Video/Photographer Household

Please welcome back our guest blogger, Wendy!

Alright, I know I’m not the only one out there. I love to take pictures, and I have a pretty good understanding of what makes a good photograph. However, I am married to someone who barely knows how to turn a camera on. And wanting a picture of me and the kids that is either centered, in focus or close enough to see us at all? Forget about it! As us girls from the south say, “Bless his heart!” This endearing phrase is often code for, “What the heck is wrong with him/her?”

My constant battle with my children’s life events involve the inner turmoil of, “Who is going to take the still pictures?” or “Who is going to run the video camera?” but especially, “How can both of these people be me?!?” I often have to weigh my options and give up on one type of documentation. Either that or drive myself nuts switching back and forth. And then I saw the commercial for a new HTC-something cell phone where you can take photos from your videos!! Now I KNOW this phone was created by someone in the same predicament as me. Maybe the iPhone or some other cameras do the same thing, but this is the first I’ve heard of it.

 These thoughts take me back to my twin daughters’ Pre-K graduation. This was a huge milestone… considering they were finally old enough and well enough to graduate from anything. So, we get to the auditorium and secure a seat in the front row after practically snatching chairs from another family…hey…I’m serious about my documentation of events. I agonized about it all the way to the venue, and I probably subconsciously agonized from the moment I learn of said event. But those are my mental issues to be discussed elsewhere. Anyway, I decide I want some decent still pictures during the “ceremony” so I task my husband with the operation of the video camera. He starts asking me what he should do if his arm gets tired, is there something he can rest it on? Are you kidding?? Take one for the team here…I don’t care how tired your arm gets, keep recording! How long can this possibly be anyway? There are only 20 kids on the stage. So, the Principal gets on stage and I motion for hubby to start recording. A few minutes into it, the kids start saying the Pledge of Allegiance. It is the most adorable thing I have ever seen. I look over at my husband to make SURE he is capturing this moment, and the video camera is facing the ground because he stood to put his hand on his heart.

Now, I love some patriotism just like the next warm-blooded American, but ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? He had turned the video camera off to give respect to the flag. THAT’S IT! He is FIRED! I gritted my teeth and calmly took the video camera from him, but not before giving him a look that could kill. I decided to forgo the still pictures that weren’t turning out well in the poor lighting anyway, and I recorded the rest of the 20 minute ceremony myself. I was irritated to say the least, and the old saying just keeps ringing true… “If you want something done right, you have to do it yourself.” But since cloning myself and/or hiring a professional photographer to follow my family around are not options, I will just have to live with the agony of deciding which type of photography to use.

Ah yes…the perils of the one video/photographer household…perhaps MovieMe can help us with this serious epidemic!

Leave a Reply

