Looking Forward into the Future

Like most people, I love having things to look forward to. I’m talking about the reasons we charge the batteries in our video camera. You know, the things that make the mundane weekdays seem brighter. I hear that my girls’ class will be leading Chapel on Friday, and I make arrangements to be there regardless of what I have to move around. Why? To capture this youth, this innocence, this love for my attention that five-year-olds seem to have endless amounts of. They are growing and learning and changing so fast. It’s hard to keep up.

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 1.53.20 PM

What keeps me charging the batteries, is knowing the dynamic will change all too soon. Suddenly the years will be upon me where my girls don’t think I’m the best thing since sliced bread. They won’t want Mommy to see everything or be everywhere. These precious years where Daddy is King, I am the Queen and they are the Princesses will be over. It makes me sad to think about it.

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 1.59.50 PM

However, this Queen will have everything on record. I will have proof, and I will show them! The King and I can sit back years from now and watch the beauty that is five-years-old. We will watch the love and admiration our children have for us, and we will probably cry tears of joy. I am determined to have enough footage to last the entire teenage years and into the early twenties. For I know, by the age of 25…they will love us again.

Harrison_#6_040 - Version 2

We may never again be the King and Queen, but we will be blessed to have our daughters admire us once more. And these memories that we are making now will help bridge that gap. Perhaps we will be lucky and our kids will admire us through adolescence, but if our girls follow the status quo…I will be ready. Looking forward is what good parents do, but I remind you as I remind myself…take the time to enjoy what is going on now. Five-years-old will never happen again. Be sure to grab it and embrace it as it flies by.

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 1.55.13 PM

 

Leave a Reply

