Surprisingly Perfect Days with Cherished Memories

By our guest blogger, Wendy Reynolds:

I am so glad I didn’t listen to the initial weather report that Siri provided to me on my drive home last Friday. I asked her what the weather was going to be like on Sunday in St. Augustine. For those of you who prefer Android, live under a rock or are over the age of 60…Siri is the name of the helpful voice inside the iPhone 4S and higher. Thinking she was being helpful, she told me it wasn’t looking so good on Sunday…complete with a temperature of 66 degrees and scattered thunderstorms. Ugh! There is no way I plan to take my kids back to the beach when it’s cold and/or rainy. Much less when it’s both.

So, we told my Aunt and Uncle from New Hampshire that we wouldn’t be able to join them in St. Augustine on Sunday, and we would shoot for next Friday instead. I was bummed, so you know how bummed my 5-year-olds must have been. Later that night, I looked at the extended report on the weather channel’s site. Much to my surprise, the LOW was 66 degrees (who cares?) and the chance of rain was 30%. Um…not sure why Siri felt the need to report only the negative stuff, but at this point I decided to ignore her.

What a beautiful day it turned out to be! We spent the morning on the beach and the girls played in the water and built sandcastles. After lunch, they wanted to go in the pool. Siri must have provided the pool water temperature, because even with the sun out, my little munchkins had purple lips and tears in their eyes. They were not happy. Oh no…how am I going to salvage the afternoon? That is when I decided to drive into downtown St. Augustine. I loaded up my girls and my Mom, and off we went on a mini adventure.

We took the bridge into St. Augustine, curved to the right and ended up in the parking lot of Castillo de San Marcos. When the girls saw some neat old building that resembled a castle, they were hooked.

We got out to go exploring, and had a great time! The girls seem to be intrigued with history now (much to their Dad’s pleasure), and it was so enjoyable to share one of my childhood experiences with them. To add to an already perfect trip, we got there right on time to watch (mainly hear) the cannons being fired.

Image 2 Image 3

It was one of those days that just couldn’t have been better! From the weather (sunny, breezy and beautiful – thank you very much!) to the spur of the moment plans that worked out just right…it was simply perfect!

Image 1

We now have plans to go back to St. Augustine as a family. Maybe ride the trolley from landmark to landmark and share the stories of the oldest city in the United States with our sweet girls! I love when they can experience things that we did as children, and of course I will be documenting it all along the way. Sunday was a gentle reminder that sometimes it’s the unexpected and unplanned days that turn out to be the best. Go ahead and take the family for a drive…and cherish the memories you find along the way!

Image 4

If you wish to follow Wendy Reynolds personally, click here:

www.preventivedoublemastectomy.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

